top of page

2021 Festival Diary

Tickets Available at

Pricing: Adults £12.50 - £15.00 & U18s* £5.00

*includes Students with valid ID

We're delighted to announce that the Lasham Classical Music Festival will be returning to St Mary's Lasham. Throughout our 2020 programme we will explore the largely neglected masterpieces of a number of female composers including recognisable figures, Clara Schumann & Fanny Mendelssohn, alongside some more obscure names, Amy Beach & Dora Pejačević. Notable mentions for the week include our opening concert that will celebrate Beethoven's 250th birthday and the return of a supper concert following 2019's sell out. This will take place on Saturday 4th July with a programme of Viennese Waltzes alongside works by Gershwin and Bernstein.


Wednesday 1st July - 7.30pm
St Mary's Church, Lasham

Dora Pejačević ​- Piano Quartet in D Minor, Op.25

Ludwig van Beethoven - Piano Trio No.4 'Gassenhauer', Op.11

Ludwig van Beethoven - String Quartet No.1 in F Major, Op.18 

We open the ​2020 festival with a celebration of the 250th birthday of Ludwig van Beethoven featuring his String Quartet No.1 alongside the "Gassenhauer Trio" transcribed for oboe by Artistic Director, Josh Hall. The concert will open with Hungarian-Composer Dora Pejačević's glorious Piano Quartet in D Minor.


Friday 3rd July - 12pm
St Mary's Church, Lasham

Fanny Mendelssohn - String Quartet in Eb​

Clara Schumann - Piano Trio in G minor, Op.17


This coffee concert explores the neglected gems of Fanny Mendelssohn, brother of Felix, who was never allowed to pursue a career as a professional composer, and the famed concert pianist Clara Schumann, husband of Robert, who once said "a woman must not desire to compose, there has never yet been one able to do it. Should I expect to be the one?"


Saturday 4th July - 6pm
St Mary's Church, Lasham

Programme to include:

Johann Strauss II - The Blue Danube, Op.314

George Gershwin - Rhapsody in Blue

Johann Strauss II - Rosen aus dem Suden, Op.388

Leonard Bernstein - 'Maria' from West Side Story 


After 2019's sold-out Supper Concert we return with a night of Viennese Waltzes amongst the works of Gershwin & Bernstein to celebrate Independence Day.

Sunday 5th July - 7.30pm
St Mary's Church, Lasham

Gustav Holst - Three Pieces for Oboe & String Quartet​, Op.2

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - Clarinet Quintet in A Major, K.581

Amy Beach - Piano Quintet in F-Sharp Minor, Op.67

The first half of our closing concert delves into the repertoire for wind and strings. We begin with a charming work by Holst featuring the oboe as soloist before performing Mozart's Clarinet Quintet, which remains to this day one of his most admired works. We bring the festival to a close with Amy Beach's Piano Quintet.

bottom of page